Jon Hassell

SPIRITMUSE presents #186: Best of 2020

And right before the year ends, here’s our show celebrating the best music of 2020, including our favourite new music and reissues, and our own Spiritmuse Records releases for the year. The show is packed with gems from Sun Ra Arkestra, Matthew Halsall, dumama + kechou via Mushroom Hour Half Hour, a Gambian Griot kora duet via Folkways, deep listening music by Joshua Abrams and Jon Hassel and beautiful spiritual jazz by Cosmic Vibrations ft. Dwight Trible, Kahil El’Zabar and David Murray.

Wishing you a great 2021 everyone! ?

Connect with us:


SPIRITMUSE presents #183 • Cosmic Jazz Sounds

To celebrate our new release, the incredible new spiritual jazz album by Cosmic Vibrations ft. Dwight Trible, we’re doing a cosmic jazz set! It includes two exclusive tracks from our forthcoming release ’Pathways & Passages’, ‘Nature’s Vision & OLBAP, alongside cosmic music by Sun Ra, Alice Coltrane, Jon Hassell, Don Cherry, Nucleus ft Leon Thomas and many more. All vinyl – Enjoy! ?☄️

Cosmic Vibrations ft. Dwight Trible – ’Pathways & Passages’, the debut album from by the LA ensemble led by acclaimed jazz vocalist Dwight Trible, is fresh, spiritual jazz for the 21st century. A genre-defying amalgamation of divine vocals, soul-stirring jazz, healing poetry, with a rich tapestry of African, Meso-American and indigenous North American percussion and instrumentation, taking you on a cosmic journey of spiritual improvisation and beyond.

Pathways & Passages

180g LP w/ insert    6panel gatefold CD    digital


Connect with us:


Spiritmuse Records #182 • Deep Listening Jazz Set

Spiritmuse Records #182 • Deep Listening Jazz Set

This a recent 1hr set by Mark Gallagher (Spiritmuse Records) for IMR Radio, France, for a laid back, deep listening jazz experience. It includes tracks from Spiritmuse Records latest releases, together with some of our favourite deep jazz classics.

This is an all vinyl set – sit back & enjoy! ?☄️


  1. ‘Katon’ – Kahil El’Zabar’s Spirit Groove ft. David Murray – (Spiritmuse Records)
  2. ‘Inner Organs’ Codona (ECM)
  3. ‘Euterpe’s Favorit’ – Family of Percussion & Archie Shepp (Nagara)
  4. ‘Llanto Del Indio’ – John Tchicai / Charlie Kohlhase / Garrison Fewell / Cecil McGee / Billy Hart  (NoBusiness)
  5. ‘Peace of Time’ – Abdullah Sami – (Spiritmuse Records)
  6. ‘Heart Is A Lotus’ – Michael Garrick Sextet with Don Rendell & Ian Carr (Gearbox)
  7. ‘Hex’ – Jon Hassell (Ndeya)
  8. ‘Oof’ – Ethnic Heritage Ensemble (Spiritmuse Records)


Connect with us:

Spiritmuse Records #182 • Deep Listening Jazz Set